Engaged: Cleveland State University on Tumblr

ENGAGED is the official Tumblr of Cleveland State University. Follow us to learn more about all the ways you can engage with the home of Engaged Learning. For more information about Cleveland State, please visit csuohio.edu.

Cleveland State University

Take a Mozart tour de force with Dr. Angelin Chang

For CSU music professor Angelin Chang, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor represents an emotionally charged tour de force.

“It’s one of Mozart’s most dramatic works,” said Dr. Chang, a Grammy Award-winning pianist. “Music is about communication and conveying emotions that words alone cannot. In this concerto, we go through emotions ranging from tension to tenderness. There are stormy moments that are unlike the happy-go-lucky characteristics one may typically expect from Mozart. There are some very deep romantic moments, too.”

Dr. Chang will perform the Mozart concerto with the Cleveland State University Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Victor Liva, at 7:30 p.m. Friday, November 16, in CSU’s Waetjen Auditorium. Admission is free.

“It’s a difficult concerto musically and technically, yet it’s gratifying to experience, especially with the sensitive and accomplished musicians of the orchestra,” Dr. Chang said. “There are some difficult passages with back-and-forth dialogues between piano and orchestra. It’s very much like chamber music.”

Also on the program is Tchaikovsky’s “Pathetique” Symphony No. 6 in B Minor.

“Both pieces are mature works by the composers that show glimpses of their dark, powerful and original sides,” Dr. Chang said.

To whet your appetite for the concert, listen to Dr. Chang and the CSU Symphony Orchestra perform excerpts from Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 20 in D Minor:

First movement: Allegro

Second movement: Romanze

Third movement: Allegro assai

Photo by Janet Macoska